This CD, the 8th in the series of Aloha Festivals Falsetto Contest Winners, presents debut recordings by 2006 winners, Kalani Benanua (Maui's contest) and Elijah Isaac (Kaua‘i's contest). They are backed by some of Hawai‘i's best musicians: Dwight Kanae on guitar, William "Baba" Alimoot on upright bass, Casey Olsen playing Hawaiian steel guitar, and Jan Luna on keyboards.

Vintage recordings by 2006 inductees into the Falsetto Hall of FameBenny Kalama, Kahauanu Lake, Dennis Pavao and John Piilani Watkins – give buyers examples of classic male falsetto sung by the masters. Informative liner notes complete this excellent introduction to the Hawaiian art form.

Album Tracks:

(press play to hear samples)

  1. Moloka'i (John Piilani Watkins)
  2. Kaulana 'O Hilo Hanakahi (Elijah Isaacs)
  3. Pakalana (Kalani Benanua)
  4. Mi Nei (Kahauanu Lake)
  5. Aloha Ka Manini (Kalani Benanua)
  6. U'ilani (Elijah Isaac)
  7. Alekoki (Kalani Benanua)
  8. 'Ainahau (Elijah Isaac)
  9. Lahela Ku'u Poki'i (Dennis Pavao)
  10. Ke Ali'i Hulu Mamo (Elijah Isaac)
  11. Queen's Jubilee (Kalani Benanua)
  12. Kealoha (Benny Kalama)

Item CodeAloha Fest Falsetto Winners, Vol. VIII
Price$12.95 EA
Unit of Measure

Copyright 2014 HULA RECORDS®. All Rights Reserved.
Powered by OBS -