"Haiku" is the third in a series pairing the shakuhachi or Japanese bamboo flute by Riley Lee with Jeff Peterson's Hawaiian slack key guitar. While their first two albums explored the simplicity of the bamboo flute and guitar, their latest recording takes their collaboration to a new level, combining flutes and guitar in multilayered arrangements. The addition of a bass adds a deep rhythmic component to the soaring harmonies Riley and Jeff have created for this new collection of originals and old favorites.

 Internationally acclaimed  Riley Lee has recorded over 50 albums, both as a solo artist and in tandem with others playing instruments such as Australia's didjerido. Jeff  Peterson was born and raised on Maui where the music of his Hawaiian heritage provided a foundation for his exploration of classical and jazz forms. Local audiences will recognize him from performances at Milton Lau's annual Ki Ho`alu Festivals or recitals at The Honolulu Academy of Arts. Also a noted composer, Jeff's works have been heard in the US and abroad. Information about the artists, their instrumental stylings andbrief comments about each song are included.

Album Tracks:

(press play to hear samples)

  1. Soaring
  2. Mele 'Uhane (Spirit Song)
  3. New Moon
  4. Nu'uanu Nocturne
  5. Haiku
  6. Pua Mamane (Mamane Flower)
  7. Ku'u Pua I Paoakalani (My Flower in Paoakalani)
  8. Hi'ilawe in the Rain
  9. Puamana
  10. The Night Blooming Cereus (Panini O Ka-Punahou)
  11. Makuahine Aloha
  12. Waikiki

Item CodeHaiku
Price$12.95 EA
Unit of Measure

Copyright 2014 HULA RECORDS®. All Rights Reserved.
Powered by OBS - openbusinesssystems.com